Some people believe that citizens can most benefit their communities by contributing time

and resources to volunteer efforts (e.g., town cleanups, youth sports leagues, food and

clothing drives). Others believe that a community is better served when most of its citizens

engage in the political process necessary to select the community leaders most likely to

establish fair policies and initiate effective programs.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The topic presented is complex and controversial. Although some people believe that a community can benefit most when people contribute to the society by volunteering, another viewpoint is that a community can progress better if the same people actively participate in the electoral process which elects the individuals who are responsible to run effective programs for the betterment of the society. Both perspectives on the issue are valid, but overall, the advantages of a collective volunteer effort of the entire oragnisation outweighs the disadvantages.

Firstly, volunteer work enables all the citizens of the community to be a part of the process for smooth runnning of the community. Volunteering instills a feeling of giving back to the society. Let us consider the example of, if a community has decided to conduct weekly cleaning by sessions, it will propel all the citizens of the community to move towards a common goal. This helps reduce the burden of the cleaning the town on a handful of people. As a result, citizens themselves abstein from littering the streets as it is them who will clean it eventuallly.

Secondly, the overall burden on a few selective individual can be reduced by having a collective effort to resolve some of the common issues of the society. To illustrate, if responsibilities for some of the activities are shouldered by the citizens, then the elected officials can be left with more time to work towards the betterment of the society in other areas of need.Thereby, advancing the society to achieve the other important goals.

On the contrary, some might argue it is better to have designated people to run the initiatives of the community. As there are designated people assigned, those people are compelled to complete their tasks thereby resulting in achieving the goals of the community. However, the burden of such designated individuals can be reduced by volunteer efforts.Thereby, propelling the designated individuals towards for grave issues.

While the issue of volunteer work as opposed to designated individuals running the programs must be carefully considered. The benefits of volunteer work simply cannot be overlooked, thereby providing ample support to my contention that volunteer work will help achieve the common community goals.