Some people believe that citizens can most benefit their communities by contributing time

and resources to volunteer efforts (e.g., town cleanups, youth sports leagues, food and

clothing drives). Others believe that a community is better served when most of its citizens

engage in the political process necessary to select the community leaders most likely to

establish fair policies and initiate effective programs.

Every citizen must work for the welfare of society. While contributing time and resources to volunteer efforts will benefit society in short term, but for long term affect citizens should engage in the political process neccessary to select the community leaders.

Responsible citizens can help poor and needy ones by contributing food and resources and childern's by organizing sports meets. But these efforts will help the needy ones for only short period of time. It will have temporary affect on their conditions. On other hand by electing appropriate community leaders with proper knowledge will help to eradicate trial and tribulations of the people of community in longer run.

Furthermore, responsible community leaders will check if the funds offered by government are used in the fair and proper way. Which will increase the number of youth sports leagues , financial and other useful aid.

Moreover, It will be very difficult to check if all the sections and sectors of society are provided equal volunteer help. There can be number of volunteer drives going on in a city at different time and different location. So, there can be a case that a lot of time or money is wasted to people of a specific part of community, or in a specific field. An official qualified community council will make sure that every problem poverty, illiteracy, etc all, are met with equal consideration.

On the contrary,it can be said that there are some leaders who does not work for the welfare of society and their only aim is to earn profit. But the number of such leaders is less.

Every citizen must volunteer whenever they have time. But first and foremost is selecting an appropriate candidate that will establish fair policies.