In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The question of whether prunty county should undertake the same kinds of road improvement project that butler county complated five years ago has been complicated. The author of argument suggests doing so, since the butler county experienced 25 percent fewer reported accidents this past year than there were five years ago. Although undertaking similar projects might reduce the accident rate, we need more evidences to fully evaluate this recommendation.

To begin with, the first piece of information that the author should provide is whether improvement project is the major impetus to reducin...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.