Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to this argument, the Palean baskets may have been made by people from areas other than Palea as the baskets have been found in the adjacent village. We need more evidence about geographical information of the area, the technologies of building boats and bridges and the characteristics of the baskets in order to evaluate the argument.

While the author assumes that the baskets could only have been carried by boats which had not been found, there are other possible scenarios. For example, maybe the river at the time was not as deep and broad as it is now. If the river was shallow and narrow, people in Palea and Lithos could be trading baskets by walking across the river. On the other hand, maybe the weather was extremely cold at the time and the river was frozen during the winter. Again the people from the two villages could simply walk across the river to trade. So we need more information about the geography and climate in the area at the time to assess how likely the scenarios discussed above were.

We also need to know more about the technologies of Palean and Lithoian people at the time for building boats and bridges.

Specifically, we want to know whether they were able to build boats and bridges and if they could what materials they used. Maybe they could build boats or bridges to cross the river but the materials they used could not survive the time and left no traces for archaeologists to locate. The absence of any tangible traces of boats or bridges does not necessarily imply no boats or bridges were available then. More information regarding these issues is needed.

Another importance piece of evidence we need is the materials being used to make the baskets. Specifically, we want to know whether the baskets could float in the water. It is possible that some of the baskets had been dumped by Palean people to the river and carried by the water to the other side of the river and then picked up by Lithoian people. To assess how likely this scenario is, we need to know the density of the materials of the baskets along with some other physical characteristics.

In conclusion, it is difficult to decide whether people from Lithos may have learned to make the baskets. More information about different issues discussed above has to be gathered to assess the strength of the argument.