"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Monarch Books, having enjoyed prosperous business and large customer base for the last twenty years, is looking for the possibilities of expanding itself. The board of directors of Monarch Books recommends that the monarch books should open a cafe in its store, with discontinuing the children's books sections. To buttress their argument, the board cites the following evidences: first, opening cafe would attract more customers; second, percentage of population under age ten is declining; third, opening a cafe can better compete with which regal books recently opened its own cafe. Tough the issue has its own merit, due to lack of convincing evidences and unanswered questions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the crucial attraction of Monarch Books remained unjustified. It is well known that the popularity of the book store is the result of wide selection of books all subjects. If the primary reason that people come to read books is its environment, then opening a cafe might not be a wise choice. The appearance of cafe, will engender considerable noises, which disturb people who are immersed in reading. Readers, no longer experience quite reading atmosphere, might choose to leave and would not come to the monarch books in the future. Thus, the author fails to consider the negative impact brought by openness of cafe.

Moreover, the demographic structure the Monarch customers needs to be taken into account. The decreasing in the percentage of the population under age ten in national census does not necessarily mean that demand for children's book in the monarch books will decline. What if the total population increases instead? In this case, even though the percentage has been declined, the total number of kids under ten will not decrease dramatically, or even will increase significantly. In addition, the result from national census cannot represent the condition in this city. It is possible that educational resources are rich and economical system is robust in this city. Numerous people are attracted to migrate to and reside in Monarch city. If, furthermore, parents emphasize more on their kids' education and realize the importance of reading, then individual purchase of children's book perhaps increases a lot. It is expected that the overall sale of children's books plays a paramount role in the operation of the Monarch Books. Without knowing the detailed demand of children's books in the Monarch Books, there is no valid reason to discontinue such sections.

Last but not least, we need to investigate the change of Regal Books after opening the new cafe. Does it attract more customers and promote the profit? If Regal Books indeed prospers owing to the openness of new cafe, then we might consider the feasibility of that in Monarch Books. Otherwise, it is ungrounded to follow the trend hastily. Another question we need to be informed is whether Monarch and Regal Books are comparable. The author fails to consider different characteristics between these two book stores. Even if the cafe contributes positively to attracting more customers in regal books, does such pattern applicable in Monarch Books? What are the locations, popularity, book prices in those two stores respectively? The cost of a new cafe, including decoration, labor and material resources might be affordable for Regal Books but not for Monarch Books. Monarch Books could be suffered from severe financial crisis because of the investment on new cafe. What's more, there are also many other approaches to make monarch books more competitive. For instance, it may hold some interesting reading activities and give some discount or rewards to customers.

To sum up, as it stands, the recommendation from the board of directors of monarch books has some unanswered questions that curtail its credibility. To further strengthen conclusion, the director is recommended to provide more information as follows: first, whether more potential customers will be attracted by the newly open of cafe; second, whether there is persistently decreasing demand for children's books; third, whether Monarch Books can take advantage of the cafe to outperform Regal Books.