The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

whether Grove college should maintain all-femal education tradition has been complicated and debated in its implication. The college's governming committee recommend doing so, since they predict that keeping the college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college fincially. To buttress their argument, the committee members cite the eivdences of ideas of coeducation from both past and present students. Although the recommendation has its own merit, it does not necessarily have the predicted result due to uncertaining or even invalidity among survey.

To begin with, in order to fully evaluate the argument, the question that requires answers from the author is whether survey results from students can present the true ideas from students. The author supposed that eight percent of students wanted the school to remain all female, but what is the total number of this sample size? what are the class standings of those participants? How was the survey conducted, by face-to-face interviewing or anayounous online vote? if most of students took part in this suevey are graduating seniors, then opinions from them might not represent all ideas of current students. Instead, it will beneficial if freshmen's opinions are equally respected. if the survey is 10-page long with considerable unrelated questions, students might be tired of answering every question carefully, thereby reducing the credibility of survey results.

second, another question needs to be answered is that whether keeping the college all-female will improve moral among students. since moral standards of students are depened on several factors, coeducation cannot fully justify this issue. For example, if the major impetus to improve the moral of groven college relies on educational quality and honor code, then emphasizing more teaching quality and educational resources might be more meaningful than keeping all-female of mix gender in the college. if, on the contrary, the gender issues can affect the morale of most students, then the recommendation mentioned above is wisedom. To illustrate, when girls are surrounded by other girls, they are more likely to gain the sense of belonging and care from each other, thus becoming more confident and ethusiastic.

Last but not least, the author should provide more information about the issue that whether all-female education will convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. it is plausible that alumnae devote money or resources to college if they are wealth. Therefore, financialy fundings from alumnae are mainly based on career prosperity and potential of every graduate. if though all-female education, students can form better connection and would be more easily recommened to better jobs or higher positions, then its is likely that there will be more financial devotion. On the other hand, if it is more related to economical condition of the nation, then more financial support can be expected only if this country is experiencing boom, which cannot be explained by the mode of college. Hence, only if the committee explore motivation behind financial support from alumae can we better evaluate the expected result from this recommendation.

To sum up, as it stands, the aforementioned recommendation from groven college commitee is not a easy issue to discuss. To strengthen the predicted result, the author ought to offer evidences as follows: first, whether the survey results from both current students and alumae are convincing; second, whether all-female mode will improve moral among students; last, whether financial support from alumae is correlated to tradition of all-female education.