The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Maple county council predicts that, after introducing the proposed policy on land use, the housing price will increase significantly. Considering the cases that may support or challenge the prediction, it is important to answer a number of questions about the land supply for housing, overall trend of economic development and the population growth of Maple county to decide if the prediction is reasonable.

In order to assess the impact of limiting the development of farmland to housing prices, it is critical to look into how important the farmland is as a source of land for housing. If the re...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.