The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The personnel director recommends that Acme Publishing Company would benefit greatly by requiring all of employees to take the Easy Read course. To buttress his/her argument, the personnel director cites the following evidences to the president: first, graduates have better promotion and faster reading speed; second, many other companies have asked their employees to take the course and have greatly improved productivity; second, the cost is relatively low compared to the benefit. Tough the issue has its merit, due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the fact that one graduate of the courses was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours is not necessarily the gain from Easy Read course. What if he just went through and skimmed the materials quickly instead of deliberation during the reading? What if that person could read that report within two hours even before the course? The author fails to provide us with the information of the reading speed before and after the course, we are unable to draw any conclusion. Similarly, the passage indicates that one graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company, therefore advocating the benefit of Easy Reading course. The claim, however, is ungrounded. The author overlooks other possibilities leading to the promotion. For example, the one is responsible and has strong vocational skills, including writing, communication and leadership skills. It is his skills and quality, instead of fast reading speed, that contributes to his/her higher position in the company. The author only offer the result from two graduates, and so sample size is too small and not representative. In order to fully evaluate the recommendation, we need track more students.

In addition, the director indicates that employees from many other companies who taken the reading course have significantly enhanced productivity. Even though it is valid, we are not able to say anything about Acme Company. Do all characteristics are the same among those companies? What are the types of those companies? How many the subordinates indeed participated in the course? Without informing us these questions, the conclusion that reading course is beneficial to improving productivity is unjustified. The author also suggests that the faster you read, the more information you are going to get. Because of lack of relevant evidence, this fact is not persuasive to us. I doubt that sometimes overwhelming information perhaps leads to wrong direction and hence decrease the work efficiency.

Last but not least, the author assumes that Acme would benefit largely by requiring all employees to take the reading course, since the benefit exceeds the cost. The Easy Read course which costs $500 is not affordable for every individual. If the company pay for the courses for all its staff, and there are hundreds of workers in Acme, the company might be facing financial crisis or sever deficit. Furthermore, the author fails to consider the potential negative impacts. The course would take three weeks in Spruce Cit. Even though employees take this course in turn, there still would be vacancies, which hamper the cooperation between workers and departments. More detailed information, such as total number of employees, possible costs and so one is needed to assist in our evaluation of the conclusion. The company would face the risk of declining output and it is unjustified that the benefit can be greater than the cost. The lifelong subscription newsletter does not necessarily provide the useful information, as it can only consist of countless advertisement. The benefits, hence, is ambiguous.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is based on several incomplete evidences that weaken the credibility of the argument. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is advised to add the detailed information as follows: first, whether most graduates from the reading course acquire sophisticated reading skills and get the better job or higher position in the company; second, whether faster reading speed is essential to improving productivity for all employees in Acme company; third, whether the cost of reading course can be overshadowed by the benefit obtained under any condition without causing any negative effect on the daily operation of Acme.