Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100

lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that the large number of predators must be the main cause of the elimination of western gazelle since the the climate difference is negligible. We need to collect more evidence about three main issues that may affect the fate of western gazelle: the food sources, the predators and the environment.

There is no doubt that western gazelle, like other animals, need abundant food to supply. While the new environment only has slightly less rainfall, it may not sustain the kind of food that western gazelles need to survive. Perhaps western gazelles rely on a kind of vegetation that needs more rainfall or other nourishment that could only be found in the west. Therefore, we need more information about the food supply for western gazelles to better understand the causes of its elimination.

Another important factor we need to consider is the predators that might threaten the western gazelles. It is true that a greater number of lions and other wild carnivores could be the predators of the western gazelles. But it is important to bear in mind that there might be other smaller animals that are easier preys for the predators. If the predators could obtain food from other sources, the western gazelles might be spared.

On the other hand, we also need to look into environmental factors that might cause the elimination of the animals. Maybe the water and air pollution were more severe in the new environment which the western gazelles found difficult to withstand. Or there might be certain germs or virus that wiped out western gazelles. Or perhaps the preserve has been so overcrowded that the western gazelles simply could not establish their own territory to survive.

In order to determine the causes of the disappearance of western gazelles, it is important to collect more information about its food supply, the potential predators and other environmental factors that may affect their livelihood.