The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion in the argument is highly dubious. Merely based on a vague survey and gratuitous assumptions, it is too hasty for the author to suggest that the construction of new generating plants is not necessary.

To begin with, the survey about homeowners' attitude towards energy preservation is open to question. There are many doubts concerning the credibility of this survey. For example, where was the survey conducted? if all the respondents live in a certain region outside the service zone of the electric power company, the result of such a survey cannot provide any useful information for the company. Again, it is also likely that the survey was conducted nationwide. For that matter, the author cannot rely on the survey unless he presents sound evidence to indicate that the tendency of the residents whom the company serves typifies the national trend. In addition, how many people have participated in this survey? if the number of respondents was not large enough, the result of the survey would not be representative and useful. therefore, the author must provide more proof to demonstrate that the survey is both credible and instructive to the company if he wants to rely on it as a support to his claim.

Second, the fact that the respondents of the survey are eager to conserve energy does not necessarily mean that they are going to do it in reality. Just as new Year resolutions are almost always left unattended after the initial fever, the preference shown by these respondents is equally vulnerable to their pragmatic life style or other plans. it is therefore highly possible that most of the respondents will not conserve energy usage either due to their unwillingness to practice the relative tiresome and complicated efforts, or because of their unintentional amnesia. Hence, to totally rely on the respondents' tendency is not safe at all.

Moreover, the author unfairly assumes that more energy-efficient electronic appliances and homes will be purchased and adored by the residents. Although the appliances and homes being energy-efficient is luring, the author must take into account other factors that are surely to influence people's desire of purchasing. these factors include whether the cost of these new appliances and homes is inhibitive, whether these new technologies are foolproof to manipulate, how much energy can be saved and whether the savings are able to compensate the cost of these machines, and whether residents are in favor of the style of the new appliances and homes. after all, buying large electronic appliances and homes is never a cursory issue for anyone; it involves customers' concern from almost every part of their life. being energy-efficient might not be the determinant contributor to the buyers' final decision.

Finally, the author continues to make unsubstantiated assumption that the current generating plants can meet the future need of electricity. he fails to consider any future change within the region which the company serves that might alter the trend of energy consumption. Perhaps in the near future, more people will move into the region, and the need for energy will wax accordingly. Or maybe the weather will become too inclement for residents to bear so that they have to use more electricity to guarantee a comfortable life. it is even likely that the income of the residents will increase in the future, which will then augment their consumption in electricity for entertainment. Without ruling out all these alternatives, the author's conclusion is ungrounded.