Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within this group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots were not wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, these statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument claims that there is need for more protective equipment to reduce the roller-skating accidents. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: Hospital statistics shows that 75 percent of those had accidents in streets or parking lots has not been wearing any protective clothing or light-reflecting material. Hence, by investing those equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce the risk of injury. Tough the issue has its own merit, due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the report from hospital statistics does not necessarily indicate the direct inverse relationship between accidents in roller skating and the usage of protective equipment. Even if 75 percent of those in accidents were not been protective, we are not given the detailed description of injuries. If the sample size might be too small, the percentage cannot tell the full story. The memo only provides the statistics of emergent room, how about other ways of curing? Perhaps multiple people choose to treat with family doctors, instead of visiting emergency in the hospital, then the result is not representative. It is likely to that those who visit family doctor are consisted of large proportion of injured wearing protective equipment, then the equipment might not be useful.

What's more, many other factors leading to the injury remain unexamined. For example, if the most of these people who got injured are beginners to roller skating, then main cause should be their skill instead of protective equipment. It is plausible that even though all of them were high-quality protective gear, because of their unsophisticated skill and technique, the percentage of accidents stay the same. The accidents, in addition, take place in street or parking lots, which are dangerous due to high volume of cars. Injuries can be resulted from inattention of drivers or unsafe actions. Without excluding all other factors leading to the accident, it is fallacious to suggest the casual effect between accidents and protective equipment.

Moreover, investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment might not contribute to alleviating the risk of being severely injured in an accident. What if the risk is reduced by only one percentage? It is, thus, not convincing to advocate the usage of protective equipment. The source and credibility of statistics remain untested. It is possible that after wearing protective gear, roller skaters develop the illusion that they would not be injured seriously, so that become careless and engage in more perilous behaviors. In this case, more sever accidents actually will happen. The author also fails to states the potential harm owing to the light-reflecting material. Those like clip-on light perhaps will intervene the normal driving and cause negative effect on the city distribution. Wearing protective equipment is not the only effective way to reduce the injury. For instance, every roller skater need to take the training course and pass exams to get the certificate to skate. Courses and tests can make them realize the significance of safety and be more cautious.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is based on several problematic assumptions that curtail the credibility of argument. To further strengthen the validity, the author is suggested to include the evidences as follows: first, the detailed report of every patient in the accidents and the main reason of their injury should be provided; second, the author should give the results and comparison due to the use of protective equipment, probably by precise investigation from experts; finally, the statistic offered in the memo is persuasive and the risk can be indeed reduced a lot.