In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences. To buttress his argument, the author cites that the first study shows that most respondents prefer literary classics as reading material, while most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries was mystery novel. while it might be true that first study might be misrepresentative based on different results from two studies, we cannot fully evaluate the argument due to the some questionable stated and unstated assumptions.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences. however, such assumption might not be meaningful if we are not offered detailed information about the study. For example, it is possible that most participants in the survey are students, who prefer literary classics to novel, while other age group residents have different preferences. when there are disproportionate number of students in the survey, then the result is necessarily biased and not representative. Therefore, the variance in study might be resulted from uneven distribution of people with different age groups in the survey rather than from people's misrepresentation. In addition, it is also plausible that the sample size is too small to get the comprehensive ideas of people's opinons. Hence, increasing number of respondents would perhaps deflect the results. when most respondents are students and they often loan books from university library, then two studies are targeted at different individuals, so that there is no reason for these two studies to have common in results.

Moreover, the author assumes that number of books checked out is the same as people's preferences. Nonetheless, such assumption fail to take into account of availability of books in these libraries. In all likelihood, libraries have much more collections of mystery novel, then most people cannot obtain their favorites, so that they have to choose other types of books to read at home. however, if literary classics are available, most people would still turn to them. it is also plausible that library classics in most public libraries can only be read within the library, only a few can be taken home. In this case, the low quantity of literary classics cannot be attributed to losing interest from public

Last but not least, the assumption that conditions in local libraries stand for all conditions in waymarsh is ungrounded. if public library is the only method for the residents to obtain reading materials, then it is possible that people like to read novels more, supporting the misrepresentation in first study. On the other hand, it is likely that most people, who perfer classics, would buy these books from book store or online, so that they do not need to check these out anymore from the libraries. Unless we integrate reading materials both from all media, including online market, book stores and private and public libraries, we cannot fully draw the conclusion above.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion made by the author is based on incomplete or problematic assumptions that weaken the validity. To further strengthen his argument that respondents in the first study has misrepresented their reading preferences, the author should provide the evidences as follows: first, whether studies reading habits conducted by the university of waymarsh are representative; second, the availabilies of both kinds of books in all public library as well as library policies; third, whether people get reading materials more frequently from other methods or platforms.