A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night." Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument states that in order for a business to proper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: the executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher margins and faster growth based on a recent study. Tough the issue has merit, due to lack of convincing evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that result conducted by recent study is valid. Since the study is only based on 300 people, the sample size might not be large enough and all the participants in the survey might represent all people in different businesses. The author fails to provide detailed information about the study. How many males and females took part in this study respectively? What are the ages, positions and characteritistics of those people? The hours reported by the executives are not necessarily equal to the exact sleep hour. some employees, in order to show their deligence, reported the sleep hours less than true ones. Without the credibility of data collected by the study, we are not able to draw the conclusion readily. In addition, the study is only based on Mentian advertising, so that it might not be applied to other businesses, as structures and characteristics of business can vary significantly.

Moreover, the author attributes the better performances of individuals sole to the sleep hours. many other factors remain unexamined. For example, some employees perhaps have wider knowledge base and more sophisticated skills, thereby improving the effiency of their work. some, apt at learning and devoting more time on their positions, are more likely to earn higher profit margin. In terms of firm, the success secret can be their skilled manipulation and reasonable policies. Therefore, there are many other possibilities leading to better performance of each individuals. Unless excluding other potential causes, the conclusion is ungrounded.

Last but not least, the author assumes that only hiring workers who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night is beneficial to propersity of the businesss. The assumption, nevertheless, is invalid. there is no convincing method to measure sleep hour of every individual and sleeping hours can differ from day to day. The companies are unlikely to know the correct sleeping hours, because some people would lessen their sleep hours temporary to get the job. Furthermore, the author does not evaluate the potential harm after implementing such policies. The shortened sleep hour does not mean that people devote all the rest of time into work. some, instead, play computer games or just chatting with friends, which wastes their rigor and make them exhausted. people on the next day, might be sleep and reduce their efficiency a lot. sleep, on the other hand, can make people relaxed and prepare better for tomorrow's task.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion drawn by the author is relied on several questionable and unstated assumptions, to further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to include the evidences as follows: first, whether the recent study is presuasive and representative; second, whether there is causal effect between sleeping hour and profit margin or the better performances are caused by other reasons; finally, whether the condition and profit can be increased dramatically owing to hiring only people with short sleeping hours.