In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

The argument represents a survey conducted by the University of Waymarsh for the reading habits of the citizens of the city. In the survey presented there are few flaws and loopholes which make the argument dubious. There are two studies shown and contradictions have been presented which are leading to a conclusion. The loopholes in the argument is about the proper description of inforamtion to make the argument credible.

Firstly, the study conducted by the researchers brought information that most of the citizens preferred literary classics as reading material. Here, the study was conducted who went to public libraries or private libraries or they were students of a university is not mentioned. Also, the preferred choice is presented and not the ones that are bought maximum by the citizens. There is a use of "most" but there a figure is not presented in the argument for the number of citizens having a predilection for literary classics.

The second study was conducted by the same set of researchers in the public libraries where citizens were found to pick mystery novels frequently. This only information was used by the researchers to conclude that in the first survey the citizens misrepresented there reading preferences. But this might be a good decision based on this little information. The reasons for picking a mystery novel is not presented at all. The time between two studies which were conducted are not brought to light in the argument. Though the researchers were the same, assumption that both the studies were conducted contiguously might not be true.

The second study was a time when a series of mystery novel got published in the market. These mystery novels might be great books and people have been waiting for such books to come into market. So, after the introduction of these brand new mystery novels that might be of a great author who is admired for his/her work for mystery novels all around the world, these books got some publicity. Also, the mystery books of authors years back can be considered as a literary classic. A literary classic is a when the book has revolutionized a form and that is being in use for that genre of books. So, a mystery novel could also be a literary classic. So, concluding that the citizen's preference's display in the earlier study is nothing but falsified is not something which one can believe, because of poor representation of information and lack of a study with more parameters to cover.

To recapitulate, the above mentioned reasons are loopholes and assumptions that are used to have a conclusion about misrepresentation of choices or preferences of citizens of Waymarsh for reading material. So, to present a generalized view for preferences more rigor display of information is needed and also the researcheres need to cover more aspects before coming to a concusion which brings a lot of questions to there conducted study.