Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Firstly, today’s modern problems where technology has reached to a consummate and still moves further ahead for prosperity we need to think in a broad-minded way rather than a stereotypical sense. For example, the work done by Boston Dynamics in the field of creating robots like 4-legged animals is appreciative. These robots are in a way like animals walking which don’t fall when get hit by someone. Also, these robots can climb to areas which are elevated, and with many more features, they amaze everyone around them. For the invention of such kind of product, we need image processing, electronics, robotics, computer science, physics, and several more knowledge. Of course, people from these fields brainstorm and their solutions but still everyone should have some inter-disciplinary knowledge about these fields. For this university should emphasize on to take courses outside the field. Doing this will allow students to approach problems of different fields with fewer issues and can also adapt more easily to new knowledge.

The inter-disciplinary approach helps us to target two different and opposite fields and bring solutions. Like as we know Biology and Mathematics are two opposite fields but, mathematics is used a lot in biology right from predicting the probability of any living person to take birth to presciently know about a disease which can be caused to a person. Bayesian Networks are used to derive a network which can predict the risk of heart disease given some symptoms of a patient. All pathology lab experiments results are based on probability distributions for the levels of the normalcy of a substance in a living body. The transmission of Zika virus can be modeled using Probabilistic models and Markov Chain. Like these examples, there are a lot of fields in which knowledge of other fields help us to find solutions. This kind of approach should be instilled in every student who finds problem-solving interesting.

The other side of the coin is also having points which can be important in defining a student’s career. If a university strictly asks a student to take on courses other than his/her field can start a rebellious nature in students. As not all students might like the fact of studying different courses out of the curriculum. Firstly, the subjects they have a strong repulsion for from the very beginning must study it now. This will bring a feeling in students that their life is ennui and start hating the core subjects too. Also, the role of interest in thinking broad-minded is also a very important factor.

To recapitulate, the broad is to give students skills to fight against different problems and with different approaches. For this, we should remember the letter ‘T’ where vertical means depth in a subject but horizontal means also having knowledge interdisciplinary. For facing real-life problems we need real life approaches and so the frame of reference should change for effective outputs.