In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument concludes that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences. To buttress his argument, the author cites that the first study shows that most respondents prefer literary classics as reading material, while most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries was mystery novel. while it might be true that first study might be misrepresentative based on different results from two studies, we cannot fully evaluate the argument due to the some questionable stated and unstated assumptions.

To begin with, the difference in result of two studies does not mean that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences based on survey results. For example, it is possible that most participants in the survey are students, who prefer literary classics to novel, while public libraries are used more by people aged above 25, who prefer reading novel for leisure. Following this way, the variance in two studies can be attributed to inconsistent types of population in samples. We also need to examine the credibility of two studies, in that the difference might be explained by questionable methods or procedures instead of misrepresentation. The sample size in first study has to be large enough to reduce bias while time periods in second study has to be long enough to view the pattern. Unless both studies are well-designed and controlled properly, it is overly simplistic to conclude.

When a disproportionately large number of students are in the survey, the result is perhaps distorted and not representative. Therefore, the variance in study might be resulted from uneven distribution of people from different age groups in the survey rather than from people's misrepresentation. In addition, it is also plausible that the sample size is too small to get the comprehensive ideas of people's opinions. Hence, increasing number of respondents would perhaps deflect the results. The time duration of second study is quite significant as well. One year total number of books checked out in individual section might be more useful than one month similar statistics.

Moreover, the author assumes that number of books checked out reveals the exact reflection of people's preferences. The choice or decision of books checked out might lies in many other factors, such as availability and usage. To illustrate, it is likely that libraries have much more collections of mystery novel than classics, then they have to choose other types of books to read when classics are not available. It is also plausible that library classics in most public libraries can only be read within the library, with only a few can be taken home. In this case, the low quantity of literary classics cannot be attributed to low interest in novel from public. Quite likely, students check out books for their academic paper or project rather than reading for their own interest.

Last but not least, the assumption that conditions in local libraries stand for all conditions in Waymarsh is ungrounded. If public library is the only method for the residents to obtain reading materials, then it is possible that people like to read novels more, supporting the misrepresentation in first study. On the other hand, it is likely that most people, who prefer classics, would buy these books from book store or online, so that they do not need to check these out anymore from the libraries. Unless we integrate reading materials from all medium, including online market, book stores and private and public libraries, we cannot fully draw the conclusion above.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion made by the author is based on incomplete or problematic assumptions that weaken the validity. To further strengthen his argument that respondents in the first study has misrepresented their reading preferences, the author should provide the evidences as follows: first, whether studies reading habits conducted by the University of Waymarsh are representative; second, the availabilities of both kinds of books in all public library as well as library policies; third, whether people get reading materials more frequently from other methods or platforms.