The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mayor of the town of hopewell argues that the best way to energize hopewell's economy is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in ocean view. To buttress the conclusion, the author cites the following evidences: ocean view's golf course and report hotel play significant role in promoting local tax revenue by 30 percent. Therefore, by mimicking its action, hopewell is able to enhance economy condition. Though the issue has merit, due to lack of convincing evidences and unstated assumptions, the suggestion made in the memo is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the rising tax revenue in ocean view does not necessarily come from golf course and resort hotel mainly. we are not given the details about how exactly those affect the economic in ocean view. other impetus driven the income is unexamined. For example, there is a promising technology company that produces the most innovative products worldwide recently. thus, this company is able to receive considerable profits from consumers and pay more tax. Another bedrock for economic growth might be high quality education. it is possible that ocean view has one of the most pretigious university in the world, thereby owning outstanding ungraduates. No one can deny that knowledge is able to create treasure, since with wider knowledge base and advanced skills, people can have novel ideas and improved efficiency, so that local companies are able to generate more wealth. The author also fails to provide the exact number of improvement of tax revenue. what if the original revenue is very small? In this case, 30 percent change does not reflect the advantage of newly built resort.

Moreover, ocean view and hopewell might not be comparable because of different characteristics. what are the population, location, GDP par capital, and tourist attractions in those two towns respectively? The mode of ocean view might not be applicable to hopewell. it is likely that ocean view is famous for its beautiful sences and pleasant climate, and people are willing to spend vacation on it. On the other hand, hopewell does not have any attracting sights and temperatures are in general low, thus preventing potential visitors to come. following this way, resort hotel perhaps does not large customers and golf courses will have multiple vacanies. Furthermore, there is no guarantee that golf course and resort hotel would still be popular in the foreseeable future. people might be drawn attention to other activities, such as horse riding and hiking. Insistently copy and paste from ocean view probably would not be suitable in hopewell.

Last but not least, the author unfairly assumes that constructing a golf course and resort hotel is the best way to improve economy. we know that economy health depends on various factors, including business operations, personal incomes, tax revenues and so one. there is no singly measurement to determine the condition of local economics, and of course, it is invalid to advocate the "best" way. there are many other approach leading to stronger economic entity. For instance, the government can grant subsidy to local business and so that companies can hire more skilled employees and utilize more sophisticated equipment. The output and business revenue are more likely to enhance and so the tax revenue.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion in the memo is relied on several questionable assumptions that curtail the credibility of the recommendation. To further strengthen the argument, the director is advised to add the evidences as follows: first, how golf course and resort hotel actually contibutes to ocean view; second, whether the same is also applicable to ocean view; third, whether golf course and resort hotel are the most crucial cause for economic growth.