60. The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The author proposes that, owing to increasing demand for heating oil, we should invest in Consolidated Industries whose major business operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, weather pattern of typically cold winters would continue for the several more years; second, there is increasingly number of newly built home in this region during the past year. The careful examination of evidences provided by the author indicates that none of the them contributes to the credibility of the argument.

To begin with, the validity of the climate forecasters at Waymarsh University, which claim that the cold winters would last in the next few years, is questionable. The author fails to provide the detailed information about prediction methods and procedures, the data they used to make prediction and the reputation of individuals who participate in this prediction. If the researchers used out-dated prediction approach, the result is readily inclined to refute. Furthermore, even if they follow the most rigid approach, the reality can somehow deviate from the prediction. Therefore, the author’s conclusion with regarding to more heating oil demand based on this prediction is unwarranted.

Furthermore, the newly constructed homes in this area during the past years do not necessarily manifest the enhanced demand for heating oil. It is likely that these new homes utilize innovative technology for heating during the winter, such as electricity or solar energy. In this case, the demand for heating oil is stable. In addition, the old households may search for more efficient ways of obtaining heat, and thus discontinue to use oil as fuel for heating. In conclusion, the assumption that the more homes in this region, the more usage of heating oil is fallacious.

Last but not least, the author assumes that people can make profit by investing in Consolidated Industries due to increase demand in heating oil. While such an assumption may seem reliable at first glance, no definite evidence has been offered to back it. If the Consolidated Industries begin revolute starting this year, instead of putting major business operations into the retail sale of home heating oil, they distribute more money to the high-speed growing technology companies, so that the variation of the demand for heating oil have no direct relationship to Consolidated Industries.

To sum up, as it stands, the evidences are relied on several flawed assumptions that weaken its validity. To strengthen the author’s argument, the author is recommended to offer the evidences as follows: first, the prediction that the weather pattern remains the same is supported and proven by numerous experts; second, both new and old homes insist to warm their houses by heating oil and would continue do so for several more years; third, Consolidated Industries would still allocate majority of their business operation in the retail sale of home heating oil and such business strategy is remunerative.