The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that

In this letter, the author recommends the clients to invest in Consolidated Industries. To support this suggestion, the author analyzes the demads of oil ofr heating will increase due to the weather and new homes being built in the northeasten US. While this suggestion is probelmatic, because there are some loopholes. We need to reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, the forecast of the weather is unpredictable. The author says beseides the 90 days below the normal temperatures in the northeast of US this year, this cold weather will continue for several more years. While as far as I concern, the weather report could predict the weather tomorrow precisely, next week is also precise more of less, but when it comes to next few years, given the complexity of the world climate, this area will sill cold indeed while nobody can fortell how long this unusual cold weather will last, it is hard than calculating the stocks.

In addition, the method of people in this area for heating at home is unpredictable in the future. As the author says the oil is a traditional fuel for heating at home. In that the scientific technology is making rapid progress everyday, we can not use the oil forever when we want to keep warm at home. Let alone there are lots of methods to keep warm at home, for example electric heater and gas heater are possible alternatives, and here I will introduce the using of elctricity wire under the tiles is becoming more and more popular.Because the new home should be furnished and decorated by tiles and other familiy equipments, there is a high possbility that in the new building homes the electrical wire which can produce heat under your feet will be a better choice compared with the combustible oil, that is dangerous in the consieration of fire.

What's more the growh of the population and new homes would not mean there is an increasing demand of oil. Because we do not know what the people like to keeping warm at home in the future and there are so many alternative choices we discussed above, this evidence could not support the author's suggestion convincingly.

Finally, the running condtion of the Consolidated Industries in unpredictable without futher introduction. Because of lacking essential infromation of this company, we do not know how this company runs well or not, in this point we could not make the conclusion the investment to this company will be lucrative. Maybe this is a company about to be broken and needs cash desperately. So we should take every consideration of the company in to grant.

In conclusion, the recommendation is not convicing by the author's reasons and analyzations. To support his idea, he should provide specific markey survey of peoples' heating method at home as well as comprehensive Consolidated Indutries conditions. Besides, the author should figure out whether the oil for heating is still the first choice of people in the northeast of US in the future.