The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books."Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all su

In this recommendation, the business manager of Monarch Books argues that the Moarch Books should change the place for children's readings with the café like its competitor Book and Bean did due to the national decline in the percentage of children. While the suggestion is problematic in that there are some loopholes in it, let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, whehter there is the necessity that the Monarch Books should follow the competitor's style or not is still in question. In that Having been opening for twenty years, the Monarch Book store has already be accepted by its own style which is friendly to readers and has a comprehensive seletion of books. Probably, this is why readers are in favor of the store. While even if there is a minor alternation like replacing the childrens' books into café, the consequence may be unpredictable. Thus more survey are required to find out whether the readers would like to accept this changing.

In addtion, whether the competitor Book and bean would come to open a new bookstore is unclear. Given that there is merely an intention of the plan, It may be premature to take actions ahead of the competitor does, let alone the consequence of the change is still not clear which I discussed above. On the other hand, whether the readers would welcome this exotic bookstore or not is still unclear. Thus the author should take a local bookstores survey to find out more evidence to prove the preference of readers on the bookstores.

What's more, I contend that the national data of the children's populaiton can not be applied to the regional place like Collegeville.In that even if the national data shows that the population percentage of people under the age of ten is declining. This can not represent the Collegeville's condtion due to the regional difference. Maybe the children's population in this place is becoming more and more rencently thus the demands for children's book would increase. Moreover, even if the chilren's population is decreasing, there would be no obvious connnetion with the preference of the children's book in that most of the children in this place may be infavor of reading many books thus the desire for books is still very high. So it would be arbitrary to replace the children's books section before more suvrey having been made.

In all, I totally conprehend this manager and it is wise to make move before the competitors next step. While before comprehensive suvery and research made, the suggstion is not compelling.If the manager wants to take cations, he should collect and analyze more informations surveyed in Collegeville. Firstly, the local readers' acceptence of café in a bookstore. Secondly, the local competiors' plan or establishiments of the bookstore. Thirdly, the local preference of children's books.