The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company."During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products

In this memo, the vice president of the manufacturing company argues that the main reason of superior safety record in Panoply factory is due to the workers in this company had one-hour shorter work shifts. He concludes that the shorter working hours could offer those workers sufficient time to relax or sleep, in that according to the author, the fatigue and less sleep time of workers are important reason for many on-the-job accidents. While the author's conclusion is problematic and there are some loopholes in it. Let's reexamine them carefully.

To begin with, besides the similar prodcuts that both of the two companies make, we could not compare the two companies' on-the-job safety without other important evidence. Firstly, as we do not know the sacle of the two factories, it is possbile there are much more workers in the author's factory where there probably could be more accidents at work. Secondly, as we do not know the producing procedures of the two companies which may vary, we could not get the author's conclusion, either. In that maybe the technology that the Panoply used was more advanced and safer, there could be less accidents.Likewise, the maybe the working rules of the two company are different which could incur difference in reality. For example, with more specific working rules and disciplines, the workers in Panoly could be more aware of taking care of themselves. Thirdly, the education backgrounds of the workers may vary ,thus they could have different attitude on work and safety. The more cultivatied people usually know the importance of safety at work, moreover, ther are more skilled at work which could let them avoid some danger then.

In addition, whether the shorter work shifts could help reduce the number of the on-the-job accidents is still in question. Or in other word, maybe the less accidents at work in Panoly may not be ascribe to the less working time.In that there is no obvious connection between the fewer accidents and fewer working time. If the employees get off from work early, the time are totally up to them. Thus they could sleep as the ideal choice that the atuhor wants.While they could do other business likewise. For example, for the youngers, thet could play computer games for longer time or hang out with friends, even apply for part-time jobs. While all of these activities could consume their energy, which on the other hand, could make they more tired at work, in the end, as the author cites, the fatigue causes on-the-job accidents.

In conclusion, I really comprehend this considerable vice president, while the author's conclusion is not convincing. If the author wants to further the study and find out the real reason of fewer accidents at work in Panoply. There are more wide survey required.