Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I basically agree with the statement that Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. As one of the most significant inventions in the 20st Century, the TV has changing our life greatly. While most of the people were obsessed by the programs on TV with ignorance of its side effects which ruined our minds and attitudes toward our society. Now we should reconsider these effects the TV brought to us, I will address my views ther in after.

To begin with, the TV changed our ways of recieving information. Or to be specific, as we are watching TV, we merely foucusing on the stories and news whatever it shows to us while the consideration of ourselves seems to be negelected. There is a specific and vivid words to describe these people as "TV potatoes", lying ong the sofa with the most comfortable way which looks like a potatoe on the sofa while the mind of the people were gong by the wind, and also, the answers to the problems and issues on TV are blowing in the wind. There was a time that the Chinese boycotted Janpanese products all over the China, most of their anger were fueled by the programs on TV which unilateraly boradcasted the Japanese wanted to take back an island which was controversial between China and Japan. Thus the ethnic mood was activated. While these people ingnored the fact that most of the japanese prodcuts selling in China were made in China. This behavior would affects Chinese workers' income seriously. Thus the news on TV would have a significant effect on people, as it leave no room for their own consideration.

In additon, as our tastes of TV programs vary, people in one family would be more insulated by each other. My sister in colleges said that there were two TVs at her home. One for her parents while another is her own. Because their parents fel like to watch the old movies while she was a big Japanese cartoon fan who spent most of her leisure time on the Cartoons. Then she found it was diffcult to chat with her parents as thire daily concertrations were totally different. Now she found they are obstacled with the gap caused by the TV.

More over, the TV also affects friendship as friends would not talk with each other more when they vary from the tastes of TV. My brother suffered from this problem. As he was in high school, he was a huge fan of football while his friends who playing footballs together would not share the taste of TV programs. As his friends felt like watching live shows of celebrities while my brother found is was extremely boring as he even had no intersest in celebrities' scandals ,let alone their personal lives. While he found he could not insert a word whe their friends was disscussing the topic of live shows. In the end, he was insulated by his friends even they would not pass the ball immediately on th pitch.

In all ,I belive the TV has ruined our lives as it changed opur lives and seprated people who are not close with each other like before.