In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

In the front of the paint Guernica, by Picasso, I would not comprehend this abstract masterpiece without interpretion.Someone said the art should be closer to the public, thus it will be popular among the people. Well actually this is an open topic when we discuss the understanding of arts. Whether the works of art have the merit depends on the viewers who are evaluate them. Thus the first thing is that the viewers should be aware of the art. Also, art itself is the invetion of human beings, so let's evaluate the merit of arts by different criterions.

To begin with, one should know the meaning of the art then he could make a right detemintaion. As Guernica in front of me, maybe it is worthless if I do not know the meaning from the background in 1937, Picasso painted this abstractive paint with the osteric bull head and horse head, crying mother with the dying child in her arms, which represent the fighting against Fascisism. While when everything makes sense after this introduction, I even can feel the sadness of the crying half naked mother's suffering, tears also on my face.So this is the first step when we talk about the merit of art, one should cultivate himself to adapt to the level which the art need, or the art will be strange or opaque to him.

Secondly, there are some art which could not be comprehended by people. As betoween once said," Music if the language of the God." Indeed, God's words are so dulcet that I was always attracted by them. While in another word, we can not ignore the value of the art like Music if we do not understand it. In other word, you can seldom to hear Beijing Opera out of China, which has be of history for five hundred years. It will be an alien music for foreigners who hear it for the first. However, this is the historical cultrual vestige for china, most of which written by the real historical event in China from thousands years ago to present.

In addition,the topic whether the work of art has merit should be taken objectively. There are thousands of experts who are woring on it, we can listen to their advice, and also the Internet will tell us more about the art's value. Besides this reference, it is more important to enhance ourselves. Thus the work of art which seem to be strange for us can be viewed objectively. Do not ignore and kinds of arts as well as any kinds languages, they are all telling us their existence in the world.

As I also relax myself by the slogan"Hakuna Matata" from the african tribal language in the Movie the Lion King, we should not ignore any value of the art as they are all existing in the world no matter how popular they are, the most significant is the open mind of our human being, we should be welcome to them as well as we take the attitude when we appreciate foreign languages. They are all the human beings', most of them from our predceccors' invetions.