The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

In this memo, the director of the large group of hospitals recommends they should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout their hospital system.To support his suggestion, the author tells us in a lad study of liquid antibactrial han soaps, the solution with UltraClean made 40 percent more redction in the baceria population than their liquid hand soaps in use. After the test of this liquid at their hospital in Workby, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than other hospitals in their group. While this recommendation is problematic, there are some loopholes in this suggestion. We need to reexamine them carefully.

To begin with,the lab study of the liquid soap wih UltraClean is not reliable which need sufficient pracitcal test in the identical place. The point is that the author shows us the practical test in Workby shows the result is better than other hosipals instead of the same place. Thus these two test are all futile as lad test is not well supported by the real test. To support this suggestion, the medical group should take the two tests again.Firstly, the lab study shoud take another group which no liquid soaps in. this is the significance of the contrast group which could show the result more compelling and comprehensive.Secondly, the practical test is equally important so the test should be taken in the same place in all the other hospitals.Because the sanitary conditions varies in different places.Moreover, the reduction of patients' infection cases can not be compared between different hospitals. In order to promote this liquid hand soap, the test should be taken in these hospitals meanwhile they should seperate the regions of contrast groups which still in use of normal hand soap.In this way the two tests will be more convicing rather than the test in Workby.

In addtion,the test of the liquid soap is not convicing due to the goals of the director is preventing serious infections which none of the two test metioned. So the author should define the meaning of serious infection among the all of them.Moreover, whether it is feasible to promote this hand-washing stations in all of the hospitals of the group is in questions, as there are some place can not be sterilized by liquid hand soap even with UltraClean, like the operation rooms, which the hands of doctors's and nureses' are cleaned by alchohl sometimes, so the neccesity of this equipment is not very practical.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation that supply the UltraClean at all the hand-washing stations in their group is not well supported by these evidence in the memo. To support the suggestion, the author should revise both of the lab test and practical tests in hospitals we discussed above.