The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of the group of hospitals asserts in her memo that use of UltraClean solution in all the hospitals will significantly reduce serious patient infections. Although the conclusion might seem logical at the first glance, a more careful consideration of the argument reveals a large number of unfounded assumptions that significantly undermine the persuasiveness of the director’s argument. If the director does not provide additional evidence to support the premises she makes, the argument remains unconvincing.

First and foremost, the director bases the main conclusion on a laboratory study, which presumably showed a significant decrease in the bacteria population when UltraClean was used compared to the regular hand soap currently used in the hospital. However, there is no information about the validity of this study, the methods used to conduct it and the participants involved. Did the researchers try to contain confounding factors that may affect the results of the study? If, for example, researchers studied the effects of the soap by recruiting participants, did they make sure to randomize participants across conditions? If not individual differences might affect the results. For instance, if healthier participants were participated in the UltraClean condition, their organism might be more capable of effectively fighting the infections, and therefore the validity of the results is compromised. More information about the study would help the director to better support her argument.

Second, the director attempts to back her claim by referring to the results of a test conducted in one of the hospitals. She supports that after using UltraClean in Worby hospital fewer cases of infections took place in comparison to the other hospitals. However, if fewer patients were admitted to this hospital during the test, then there is no way to evaluate the effect of the proposed liquid. Also, the patients hospitalized in this specific hospital might be different form those in the other hospitals and therefore a comparison is not valid. The director could strengthen her position by providing information about the percentage of the patients infected in the Worby hospital during the test compared to the previous percentage of infection prior to the use of UltraClean.

Finally, the author claims that serious infections will be reduced from the use of UltraClean soap. However, the evidence about the reduction of infections from the laboratory study and the test refer to reduction of infections in general, not to the degree of seriousness of the infection. The soap might be indeed effective in reducing infections. However, its effectiveness might be constrained to the minor infections. More severe cases might not be prevented from the administration of the UltraClean soap. Therefore, the director needs to provide more evidence about whether the effects of the soap are sensitive to the type of bacterial infection.

In conclusion, the argument made to support the main conclusion is lacking, because important pieces of information are not provided. Should the author attempt to provide additional information to prove the assumptions made, the argument will be significantly more convincing.