Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/ or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws are a characteristic of almost every society and a legal system is in place to judge what individuals are allowed to do without having to face legal consequences. Laws were created as a means to ensure order and the smooth function of a society. Some governments are stricter in law enforcement whereas others are more lenient in the degree they allow their citizens to circumscribe some laws and get involved in some illegal activity. Few would disagree with the idea that a large number of the laws in place are not just. The question that arises is: should an individual obey all laws at any cost or obey only the just laws? This question is more of an ethical one which means that a definite answer can hardly be given. However, multiple arguments can be made in favor of the obedience to all laws constructed by the justice system.

Proponents of the idea advocated in the statement would argue that there is a variety of examples in history that support the idea that there are laws considerably biased against groups of the population. For example, women in Greece were not allowed to vote until the 1960’s, because they were not viewed as intelligent enough to be able to decide the future of their society or because they had innately different roles in the society, the raising of their children, which was at odds with political decisions. Similar laws prevailed in a lot of Western countries in the past and continue to prevail in many societies nowadays.

It goes without saying that justice is not blind as many desire to believe. However, would it really be feasible to live in a society where laws are followed only when they ethically agree with a person’s beliefs? In such a society, disorder would exist which would seriously influence citizens. First and foremost, whether a law would be obeyed would be contingent upon the moral judgement of the citizens. While for some outright unjust laws this might be a solution to the legal system’s shortcomings, for the majority of laws a commonly accepted direction could not be reached. This is because every person depending on his/her background and personal interests would have different opinions on whether a law should be obeyed. For some, a particular law might sound just, for others it might be unjust. This means that a person would start infringing upon the rights of another person and turmoil would rise in the society.

Although a society that leaves citizens in charge to decide whether a law is just or not and whether they should comply with it would not function properly, there are other ways that could make the legal system more just. It behooves the citizens to pressure political leaders for legal reform which would not be achieved by just discounting laws with which they do not morally agree. A historical example of political pressure is the suffrage movement which achieved to stop disenfranchisement of women. By just disobeying unjust laws the citizens cannot exert real reformation on the legal system, because there will never be a systematic effort for relinquishing unjust laws. In contrast organized movements have the ability to establish rights not previously held while at the same time securing a safe environment for all citizens not depending on the moral judgment of fellow citizens to not cause harm.

In conclusion, a society where laws are obeyed by choice cannot properly function, it can cause destruction, and cannot exert real change on the legal system.