Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education is admittedly one of the most critical achievements of the contemporary world. Until recently, education was a privilege of few belonging in the upper class of the social ladder. Only the last century formal education has been established as compulsory in the Western world and people are required by the law to completer several years of education. The question that arises is: is this achievement of our times conducive to the development of individual thought, critical thinking, and intellectual advancement or it serves only to restrain the person’s mind who is consistently adopting and aping ideas presented in class. The answer dwells somewhere in the middle. Formal education gives an abundance of stimuli to an individual, which he or she is responsible to individually process and further explore to develop his/her own theories and ideas.

Formal education has the potential to bridle instead of setting people’s minds free. This is because, more often than not, teachers and university professors tend to try to instill their own way of the thinking to their students. In other words, they present the study material from their own point of view. For example, a psychology professor who has study for years psychopathology using the Diagnostic Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders, will present this manual as the golden rule for the classification of mental disorders. Therefore, it behooves the student to conduct her own independent research, reading often literature with divergent points of view, to develop their own ideas about how psychopathology should be conceptualized and whether a specific domain of study demands revisiting. Thus, formal education provides a cornucopia of stimuli, some of them presented as widely accepted rules and others as more open to interpretation, which the students have the duty to evaluate making their own research. This way students can avoid having their minds subdued by formal education institutions.

The other way formal education can contain individual thinking is by discouraging independent voices to be heard in the classroom. It is not only the teacher who tries to ingrain her own viewpoints to the students. Often, educational institutions are obliged to present a nationally defined curriculum with specific directions about how the course should be taught. The educational system in Greece is an example of such practices. In this case, all the students are expected to be exposed to the same material and have little saying about what they would desire to learn. Hence, critical thinking and individual ideas are less valued as they diverge from the predetermined direction conferred by the government. Such laws significantly restrict human minds and the weight comes entirely to the individual student to seek further resources out of class to satisfy their curiosity and learn about subjects not included in the national curriculum.

In conclusion, formal education, although at significantly varying degrees in the different countries, has the potential to hamper intellectual development and learning, because of the way it is designed. However, it does provide a variety of stimuli of which the students can take advantage and seek further knowledge outside of class.