Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author’s main conclusion is that Kalinese sculptures will decrease in value, because evidence show that they are made using molds of actual bodies instead of using sculpting techniques. However, this conclusion is based on not properly validated assumptions that if proven false the arguments used to support the conclusion will significantly weaken. Therefore, multiple questions need to be asked before the conclusion is accepted as true.

First and foremost, the author argues that sculptures in the size of a human body were created by the Kalinese artists using molds. The author makes this assertion based on the fact that molds of human parts were recently discovered which presumably account for the highly detailed features of the bodies of the sculptures. However, this discovery only gives evidence that molds were a part of the techniques used to create human-sized sculptures. There is no adequate evidence that artists were not using other techniques as well. Therefore, the question that the author needs to answer is whether other techniques could account for the creation of the sculptures.

The only evidence that the author presents to back his conclusion that human-sized sculptures were created using exclusively molds is that only a small number of tools were found. Although this explanation might seem logical, the question that arises is: if other tools were used would they be easily found? It is possible that natural phenomena, perhaps an earthquake, would serve to destroy most of the tools used by the Kalinese artists. Another explanation would be that these artists were using tools very different to those used nowadays and, therefore, archaeologists were not able to identify the tools used to make the sculptures. Until the author provides more information to back his/her argument, it remains unconvincing.

Finally, the author argues that because full-sized sculptures were made out of molds, their value will decrease. Even if we accept that molds were the only technique used to create those sculptures, no arguments are presented about why this would lead to a reduction in their value. It is plausible that the rarity of this technique historically will contribute to an increase in value. Additionally, perhaps potential buyers are purchasing these statues because of the realistic precision in the human features and not because of how refined the technique used to produce this detail was. The author needs to provide more arguments to justify his/her position.

In conclusion, the arguments used are rife with flaws and unanswered questions that need to be more carefully considered.