The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Contemporary society is build based on a model of competition. In almost every career pathway the most competent and productive individual will be rewarded, while someone not working hard enough, who is not equipped with all relevant skills required to complete a task will lag behind and possibly will have to worry about losing his work position. This constant pressure to be superior than everyone else, which is the most important ingredient of a highly competitive society, prevails especially in the domain of leadership. However, the question that arises is: is this the best way to prepare young individuals for success in a leadership position? The answer to this question is no. Cooperation is a far more indispensable element of success in leadership.

First and foremost, competition is mutually exclusive with group work. A leader strongly oriented toward values related to competition is more likely to be authoritarian and working alone devolving tasks later to his/her subordinates. In contrast, a leader oriented toward more cooperative values is more likely to encourage subordinates to participate in the decision process. Some people might assert that a leader’s job is to coordinate a group of individuals by giving specific directions on how the work should be completed. Since this person is hired for having greater qualifications, he/she is the only one who can make decisions. However, an organization can substantially be benefited from a variety of ideas being brought to the table. If a diversity of voices can be heard with different backgrounds and experiences, the leader will have an extensive array of ideas, so that he/she can make the more well informed decision about the final plan. In the case of a competition-oriented leader, the final plan will be a product of the otherwise restrained experience of the leader herself.

Additionally, another advantage of cooperation is a more friendly and less stressful environment at work. Leadership in modern society has been equated with qualities, such as working well under pressure and hard work until exhaustion. Proponents of this view of a successful leader might suggest that competition is the only way to incentivize people to be as good as possible at their work. However, this idea deprives leadership from people that are highly creative, qualified, and intelligent, but do not work well under stress. For example, in academia, a leader in the field is the one who is capable of securing grant funding, an extremely competitive endeavor. However, exceptional scientists who excel in their fields and would be immensely helpful in the scientific community as leaders, do not have this opportunity, because they dislike competition. Competition can be an incentive, but can also be a cause of burnout that is linked to diminished creativity and originality of ideas that a true leader should possess.

In conclusion, although modern society has attributed excessively high value in competition as a recipe for leadership success, such a characteristic might deprive leaders from blossoming and contributing to the development of their field of work. Cooperation values, on the other hand, might increase the chances of productivity in the workplace and the success of the leader in his/her leadership position.