In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Few would argue against the position that knowledge is a critical element for advancement and that without knowledge this world would have made little progress. Indeed, accumulated knowledge about how our world operates, the universe or the human brain to provide some examples, has led to considerable advancement in every field of study. However, whether a specific individual will produce a novel idea revolutionizing his/her field of study, highly depends on his or her imagination.

Imagination constitutes the building block of creativity which is related to novelty. Psychological research has shown that if a person possesses qualities, such as resourcefulness and imagination, he or she is more likely to make significant contributions in his or her field. For example, a young scientist may have not developed a strong background on their area of study yet. However, if this person has the necessary imagination and creativity, he or she will ask questions that will lead him/her to seek relevant knowledge. Additionally, imagination is a trait that is negatively associated with boredom. A creative person is less likely to feel disappointed or dissatisfied with their work because they will have an abundance of new ideas about how they can approach and solve an issue. Aristotle, for instance, a highly resourceful and impactful Greek philosopher remained productive until the end of his life. At his age, knowledge was at a very rudimentary stage, but this never detract him from thinking about what is the optimal way of living and what gives meaning to human beings. Therefore, knowledge can be achieved by everyone with experience, but creativity and imagination is a strength of few people.

Although imagination is widely recognized as an indispensable quality, there are opponents to the idea that this attribute is more important than knowledge. These people support that knowledge coming from experience, provide a sound background for making innovations. In other words, they hold the view that tyros that have not spent a considerable amount of time working in their professions, are less capable of understanding their field and make meaningful contributions. This has a grain of truth. Nonetheless, regardless of the years that someone has spent studying the etiology of a mental disorder, for instance, they are doomed to making smaller contributions to science, if they are not creative and missing out of the box thinking. This is because exceptional discoveries are made by those who operate beyond what is already known and challenge conventional knowledge.

In conclusion, knowledge is admittedly a requisite ingredient of innovation and success in a specific field, whether this entails academic fields or business professions. However, the attribute that signals innovation in a field is imagination, because it leads to the creation of new knowledge through challenging established status quo.