Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape

your position

It is a well-known fact that our society is rapidly evolving. If a person living a couple hundred years ago was brought to a 21st century's kitchen, he would not even be able to tell what the room was. Technology has advanced so quickly that our surrondings have become unrecognizable. On the contrary, education has not evolved with techonology. If the same 19th century citizen was brought to a classroom, he might not even know that he had traveled through time. The way in which classes are given has mostly remained constant. Some people argue that this is because it works well. However, current formal education restrains the students. It avoids the development of their creativity.

First, the ways in which children are graded is fundametally flawed. Currently we use test with closed answers to measure the performance of the students. However, this approach does not encourage kids to look outside of the box. For instance, if a student is asked "what caused the first world war?", in order to pass the subject the student has to give the standard answer "The assassination of a archiducque". Nonetheless, the student does not go further away, he or she does not think about other non-inminent but no less significant causes.

Furthermore, current formal education has a very limited scope. First, it only teaches classic subjects such as history, english or algebra, setting aside other important topics. Normally, schools do not offer courses on philosophy, fotography or mechanics, thus it does not let children explore other areas. This limits the exposure of the kids, therefore, their creativity is restrained. Additionally, nowadays teachers focus only on one kind of intelligence, the one measured but the IQ tests. However, science publications have recently showed that there are many other types of intelligences that could be developed. For example, visual or emotional intelligence. To foster diversity education should shift their method, moving away of the traditional definition of "smart" into the new range of intelligences.

Finally, some teachers claim that basic facts must be known in order to be able to think, debate or understand the different positions about a topic. Nevertheless, facts are rarely objective, and many times we can doubt them. For example, we do not have definite proof that Homo Sapiens killed Neanthertals, but his is the only fact we teach the kids. In addition, new discoveries of the origin of earth are repeteadly made, but the books are rarely updated not to confuse the children.

To sum up, formal education has helped humankind to develop the advanced society we live in today. Nevertheless, if formal education does not evolve, the students' creativity will be at peril. Nowadays, children are graded by how well they are able to repeat a closed anser of traditional subjects without doubting this response. This limits their creativity, this is why it is urgent that education system changes.