Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that Palean baskets might have also been made outside of the ancient city of Palean. He or She uses the discovery of a Palean basket in Lithos as evidence to support this statement. However, the writer makes several major assumptions that need to be addressed before anthropologists accept or reject the argument.

Firts, the author assumes that no boats existed in Palean. However, the fact that no boats have been found in archeological explorations does not prove that they did not exist. Many of the objects and traditions of these ancient cities have been lost to the passage of time, and this could be the case of boats. Archeologist keep finding traces of sailboats among many ancient settlements, where no other evidence of sailing had been found before.

Furthermore, the writer does not consider other plausible explanations why the Palean basket was found in Lithos. He assumes that the basket was created in Lithos, but it could have reached this site after drifting in the river. Water currents are often unpredictible, bringing items to our shores from all around the world. For example, recent remains of a ship sailing by Greenland were found in the Spanish sea line. If these objects traveled all the way from Greenland to Europe, it is definitely possible that the basket had drifted across the Brim river several centuries ago.

Finally, the article assumes that the Palean basket came to being in Lithos several centuries ago. However, the basket could have been created in Palean back in that era, but it could have been transported to Lithos after several years. Once commerce in the region was widespread.

To sum up, the author presents a potentially good conclusion that explains why the Paleos basket was found in Lithos. However, the writer should present more evidence to support this statement to make it persuasive. Without further proof, the readers should be hesitant to believe it wholeheartedly.