The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

First and foremost, the vice president assumes a causal relationship between Internet use for personal or recreational activities and the productivity of employees. Even if it is a potential contributing factor to decreased productivity other factors potential have a more significant role in employees’ motivation to work hard. A potential explanation would be that the work conditions are not friendly for the employees which detracts them from concentrating to the tasks at hand. Perhaps, employees are sharing offices which are too noisy which has as result their distraction from their work. Wasting time surfing on the Internet might only be an indication of these poor work conditions. In other words, the employees are incapable of performing and turn their attention to other tasks that do not require concentration. If the author provides evidence that no other factors interfere with productivity the argument remains unconvincing.

Second, the author states that installing the monitoring software will prevent employees from wasting time on the Internet, because some kind of punishment will be implemented. However, even if wasting time surfing on the Internet might be the most important reason for reduced productivity, there is little evidence that punishment will eliminate this habit. This strongly depends on the type of punishment. Will it be terrorizing, making employees fearful that they will lose their job? If yes, this might be too harsh and result in reduced productivity, because employees will stop feeling safe. On the other hand, if the punishment is too light, it might not have an effect in Internet use. Therefore, a more clear definition of punishment and evidence of its effectiveness are strongly encouraged.

Finally, the author assumes that this policy will cause increased profits. Even if productivity is increased by the suggested measure, it is possible that other factors influence the company’s profits. For example, the product produced by Climpson might not be popular to the public and, thus, customers are less willing to purchase it. This would have a significant impact on the company’s revenue and would be unrelated to employees’ productivity. The vice president would strengthen his argument by providing evidence that the sole culprit of reduced profits is internal to the company and attributed to the how productive the employees are.

In conclusion, the recommendation of the vice president has several flaws and its validity is contingent upon assumption that potentially unfounded.