In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agre

As per the claim of the author of this statement, it is necessary for everyone to read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature. There is no doubt that reading all this reading material is beneficial for people, yet it is unfair to say that everyone should do so.

It is a proven fact that writings like poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature serve a significant role in people's daily lives. Writings like novels, poetry, mythology, can be used as a means to relax. Moreover, some widely accepted values are rooted in these kinds of writings. It is easier to inculcate reading habits in children through animated mythological books as the characters in these books fascinate children. For example, consider the remarkable novel "Uncle Tom's Cabin" by the famous writer Harriet Beecher Stowe. In her novel, she informed people how and why we should treat African Americans as the same as the whites. Her novels are widely regarded as a reading material for parents to read to their kid in United States. Undoubtedly, such a way of teaching can instill in young children the right perspective towards racial equity.

However, although this type of literature is good for children to read and learn from, it is not necessary for adults. The reading of such imaginative literature should never be ignored and should be included in the curriculum of children and adolescents who are still in their studying stage. However, after a certain stage, it is necessary for us to be rational and analytical to build a well-structured and well-functioned world with the help of scientific writings.

It is good to read all this literature in leisure time. Each person has his own way to entertain himself or to relax himself, but overemphasis on reading poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature can sometimes lead to harmful consequences. Each person has his own taste, some prefer scientific journals, some like philosophical works, and of course some others indulge themselves in reading poetry, novels and mythology. It is difficult to change one's reading inclination. If a person has to do many other important things then he does not have to read poetry, novels, mythology and other types of imaginative literature. If his job does not require them to read all this reading matter then it is not necessary for him to read.

Though reading imaginative literature is never necessary for adults, it is better to keep in mind that imaginative literature is not completely useless. Such kind of works are to be appreciated for their beauty, originality, inspiration and of course most importantly, their imagination. Sometimes these works inspire scientists and researchers and it leads to new inventions. For example, in the Ramayana, there was a mention of "Pushpak Viman" that was used by Lord Rama to travel from Lanka to Ayodhya. In modern times, we have aeroplanes to travel. Similarly, A Journey to the Center of the Earth, and Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea have cast much light on the discovery of our world in real life.

Hence, in our lives, if we need science to make our lives more comfortable, we also need imaginative literature to relax our minds. However, it is never compulsory for adults to read poetry, novels, and mythology.