The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. L

At the first look, the firm’s recommendation of investmenting in Consolidated Industries seems logical. But, there are some underlying assumptions on which this recommendation is based. More clarification is needed in this context before investing in Consolidated Industries.

The letter clearly says that most homes in the northeastern United States have TRADITIONALLY used oil as their major fuel for heating. Since we are living in the present and not in the past, basing our decision on practices of the past is anything but logical. Here, the writer of the letter assumes that since oil has been used as major fuel for heating, it will continue to be the major fuel. But, we live in a rapidly changing world. It is highly likely that oil would have been replaced by some other new technology which is more usable and energy efficient. Having said that, investment in Consolidated Industries might not be a good idea.

Considering that oil is still northeastern United States’ most preferred fuel for heating, the letter takes support of the climate forecasters’ prediction to advice investing in Consolidated Industries. There is an assumption that since the region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, there would be an increase in the usage of the heaters. It might be possible that the winters were otherwise warmer and only colder in this 90 days period. This case does not support an increased ussage of the heaters. Or maybe decrease in the temperature happended during the summer season which again did not increase the heaters’ usage. In these cases where no increase in the heater usage has been experienced, investment in Consolidated Industries might not be fruitful.

Let us say that the recent weather changes have actually lead to an increase in oil heater usage. The letter bases its advice on the climate forecasters and predicts the increase in the usage is going to sustain itself in the future. Assumption here is that climate forecasters are reliable. Their track records need to be studied before making this assumption because if that is not the case then the advice might turn out to be useless.

If it happens to be the case that there would actually be an incearsed usage in oil heater in the future, investment in Consolidated Industries might still not be a good idea. The wiriter assumes that increase in the demand of oil heaters in northeastern United States means increase sales of oil heater manufactured by Consolidated Industries. What if people there prefer some other brand? What if Consolidated Industries is infamous amongst people of northeastern United States? Brand favourites should be found out before suggesting to invert in Consolidated Industries.

These are some of the assumptions on which the investment recommendation relies. Only after clarification of the above should the client act.