The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing."During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, wh

Even though the conclusion drawn at the end which says that Butler’s safety records will improve by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested sounds logical, there are some questions which need to answered before making sure that the reduction in the work shifts will give the intended result.

The motivation behind reducing the working hours is the comparison between Butler Manufacturing and Panoply Industries where Butler Manufacturing is behind Panoply Industries in terms of percentage of accidents reported. Even though Butler Manufacturing has 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than Panoply Industries, it does not necessarily mean that workers of Butler Manufacturing are sleep deprived. The question we need to ask here is what type of work is being done at these two companies. Maybe Panoply Industries is an IT industry where all most all the workers sit infront of their computers all day. Hence it is highly likely that theie workers would suffer from any accident. On the other hand, as the name suggests, Butler Manufacturing is involved in some kind of manufacturing process where probably the workers are engaged with machines having moving parts etc. making them more vulnerable to accidents. Hence to make sure that apples are not being compared with oranges, it is necessary to find out what kind of job workers of Panoply Industries do. If it happens that workers at Butler Manufacturing are engaged in the job which is relatively more prone to accidents, a reduction in the working hours might not be helpful.

Also, questions should be asked regarding the accident reporting process of the workers. Maybe Panoply Industries have a higher percentage of accidents but it tends to avoid them from being reported. This might be an indicator that the workers are already getting enough sleep and a decrease in their working hours is not going to help Butler Manufacturing impove their safety records.

Assuming the reports obtained from the workers represent the real situation and both the industries’ workers perfrom the same type of jobs, it is important to determine whether or not the cause of these accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation. Maybe Butler Manufacturing does not provide safety equipments to their workers which leads to most of the on-the-job accidents. Thus, only if the cause behind the accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation can the decrease in work shifts give the predicted results.

Therefore, we still need answers to a few questions before determining whether shortening work shifts by one hour would help Butler to improve its safety record.