Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write

Art has always been an integral part of any human society and thus making sure it flourishes and is available to all the members of the society is important. In today’s materialistic world it is mostly essential for the government to fund the arts to make sure it flourishes and is accessible to all.

Keeping aside the popular art forms like pop music or contemporary dance forms, not all the categories of art are widely popular. Despite of having thousands of varieties of art forms, there are only a few which are able to gather the attention of the masses and hence are capable of surviving without the need of any external help. But, there are art forms like caligraphy or embroidary which have not been able to accumulate a large number of enthusiasts, regardless how passionnate are some people about it. With the world changing and commertialisation being at its peak, our focus has shifted towards the profits. Since these art forms do not have a large number of followers, the financial return in these art forms are negligible as compared to the likes of pop music and contemporary dance forms. Hence, their existence is severely endangered and without external support, they might get extict in near future.

Now here comes the need of an external support. Even though it is not necessary that support has to come from only the government but it is highly unlikely, due to lack of significant funds, that a non-government organisation would be able to provide anything more than a negligible support. That is why the government should intervene and provide support to the otherwise neglected art forms. By advertising it, the government can ignite the appriciation of the same amongst the people. With funding, the museum tickets can be made cheaper to make the art acessible to all. By doing this, the artists can concentrate on their work rather than worrying about how to collect more funds which in turn will help them being intellectually more productive, specially the poor artists who otherwise are not able to create art.

Regardless of the benifits the arts can get from the governement funding, it the government is not impartial, the integrity of the art might get threathened. By promoting only certain art forms, the government might accelerate the rate of extention of the already endangered art forms. One more possibilty is that the governement might try to interfere in the creation process of an art form and there by threatening its integrity.

All in all, government support is essential in making sure that the art flourishes and is available to all the members of the society and it can do wonders, if the execution strategy is free of biasis and gives the artist their independence.