Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explai

The main aim of colleges and universities is to transform students into flexible and responsible memebers of the society. Requiring students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country has a lot of benifits but because of the variability in terms of course structures and the students themselves, making the requirement compulsory may not be a good idea.

Each country has a unique mind set and the way it functions. Even the way people behave with each other or the way they eat also has a lot of varaibility. By requiring students to study in a foreign country, colleges and universities can help in broadening the spectrum of the students expirience and thus help in learning. On spending a semester away from home, a student can learn how to be independent and how to adapt to changes, all of which is not possible if the students stays in his or her home country, in his or her comfort zone. This situation of having only the new faces around, the students can learn how to be self-relient citizens without needing anyone’s assistance. Moreover, the completely different environment facilitates learning of new things and giving new prespectives. Assume a student in Canada, studying British Architecture. If it happens that he is given a chance to spend one semester in England, would not that be extremely benificial for him? He would be able to actually see things in real life which he had just seen in his text books till now. Getting a real life perspective might give him a new angle or make him more appreciative of the subject and thus help in him in his further studies.

As we grow old, the power of adaptibility decreases and it just becomes more difficult to adapt to the changing circumstances. When we are still in school, we are too small to live independenly and responsibily. Hence, getting exposed to variety of expiriences which are out our comfort zone is idea during our time at college. Also, it might get monotonous if a student spends all his time at one place. Spending a semester in a new place would break the monotony and re-ignite its interest in studies.

But there are some factors which need to considered before making this requirement mandatory. What if the student does not have sufficient funds to spend a semester in a foreign country? Or what if the student’s familiy needs him at home? Also, consider a student studying British Architecture in England. Asking him to spend one semester outside England might not be a good idea.

Spending a semester in a foreign country has its own merits. But, making it madotory would be going a bit too far.