The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

The author recommends the client to invest the Consolidated Industries because of the increased demand for heating oil. However, several assumptions in the argument need to be addressed to make the suggestion more convincing.

According to the projection from the climate forecasters, the arguer claims that cold winter will continue for several more years, Nevertheless, a supposition here is that the climate forecasters do have the ability to predict the future climate. The author does not provide readers the background information of the climate forecasters. Perhaps they could be fresh college graduates claiming that they can predict future climate by using their simple model learned from the class. Or perhaps they could be the experienced professors making a wild guess without rigorous data and mathematics in the daily afternoon tea. Therefore, we must know that they do have the qualifications in predicting climate, and they really have undertaken thorough research on the topic.

In addition, the author claims that for the purpose of keeping warm, the demand for heating oil will increase in the future. Nonetheless, using heating oil is not the only method to keep warming. It is entirely possible that there are some other important ways contributing to making people warm. For example, using modern electronic facilities can also do the same effect of keeping warming and more convenient than heating oil. Or the simplest way to make people feel not cold is putting on much more clothes than before, not using more oil. Therefore, many of these methods might lead to unnecessary to heating oil. Without ruling out all other possibilities, it is unfair to conclude that heating oil is the only way to heat.

Most important of all, the author seems to assume there are no other competitors in the market, which is definitely not true. The major business of Consolidated Industries is a retail sale, not the manufacturer or the design of the products. It is difficult for the retailer to monopolize the free market. For instance, Apple dominants the designs and manufacture of the iPhone, but there are a lot of the retailers selling iPhone in the market so as to make the profits significantly less. Therefore, the author needs to provide the competitive advantage of Consolidated Industries against others.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the assumptions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.