The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.

"For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Given such developments, some city commissioners argue that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting, and they recommend that funding for the symphony be eliminated from next year's budget."

Some city commissioners claim that the Grandview Symphony has the ability to be self-supporting because of the rise of private contributions and the attendance at the concerts-in-the-park series. However, several questions in the argument need to be addressed to make the suggestion more convincing.

The author claims that private contributions increased by 200 percent last year. Nevertheless, what is the exact total of contributions, one dollar, a thousand dollars, or a million dollars? It does not mention the base number of private contributions, nor tell us how much percentage the private contributions accounted for in the total revenue. For example, if the private contributions only accounted for 1% of the total revenue, then a 200 percent increase can barely help the symphony to be self-supporting.

Even if the private contributions occupies a huge part of the revenue, the fact that happened last year is not a piece of sound evidence to draw a conclusion in a future situation. For instance, perhaps a rich person, also a fanatic fan of the symphony, donated all his money to the symphony before dying so as to make the private contributions suddenly surge. Or perhaps a company decided to invest the symphony last year but not to do in this year and the future, due to the fact that the profits did not achieve the goal of expectation. Any of these events, if true, would serve to undermine the claims that the symphony can now be fully self-supporting.

The author also mentions the attendance at the concerts-in-the-park series doubled, and considering it will increase the revenue. Nonetheless, a correlation between the rise of audiences in the specific activity and the profits does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It is entirely possible that there are some other factors interfering in the relation between them. For example, if the concerts-in-the-park series is a free activity for the community, much more people attending to it does not increase the profits. Even if the ticket is needed for entering this activity, an increase in the ticket price may decrease the number of audiences so as to decline the profits probably. Therefore, without ruling out all other possibilities, it is unfair to conclude that the rise of audiences at the concerts-in-the-park series is responsible for increasing the revenue.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the questions/assumptions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.