The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too."

The marketing director recommends Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville performing a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program to attract new audiences. However, several questions in the argument need to be addressed to make the suggestion more convincing.

The author claims that making more advertisement does not attract more people to the show. Nevertheless, a correlation between increasing advertising and attracting more people does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It is entirely possible that there are some other important factors contributing to appeal to more people. For example, in sociological opinions, lots of people migrating to other towns due to rare job opportunities would decrease the population so as to make the fewer audiences attend the theatre. Another possibility is that the major audiences for the theatre are the elder, so more and more of them dying lets the audiences decrease. Therefore, if the condition corresponds to the possibilities mentioned above, investing in advertising would not help attract more people.

In addition, in technological opinions, some new technologies generate the possibility of making people stay at home to see the show. For instance, if one of the audiences uploads the whole show to Youtube, everyone owning the internet can see it by cellphones or computers. Although the audiences and the profits in the theatre decline, creating a new method such as live streaming on the internet also can generate more profit from advertisements on the internet. Therefore, maybe the director can do a survey for audiences to realize how they see the show.

The author claims that performing a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program which is similar to ‘Free Play in the Park’ program by the other company can attract more people. Nonetheless, the author fails to consider some possible differences between them that might help to bring about a different result for ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program. Perhaps Avon Repertory Company has the most famous band in the recent year so any activity, especially free, performing by them can attract people coming from everywhere. Without accounting for other possible dissimilarities, the author cannot assume that what resulted in increasing audiences in ‘Free Play in the Park’ program would bring about the same result in ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the questions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.