A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In order to let students pursue or find their own interests, I believe that the nation should not require all students to read the exact same course before university. Instead, they should design a basic course that everyone is necessary to study and an elective course that students can choose freely, for the following reasons.

In the era of the knowledge economy and rapid development of science and technology, if people can't study forever in their own professional fields, it is easy to fall into unemployment because they can't keep up with the fast-changing technology. The premise of lifelong learning is to be interested in specific fields and owning a motivation for continuous progression. Therefore, it is the core goal for the national education policy to let students pursue or find their interest in the school, and the appropriate elective courses are established for this purpose. For example, Finnish high schools allow students to freely arrange courses not only in their own school elective courses but also in some applied courses in vocational schools, and even studying in universities. Compared with students from other countries, Finnish students hate schooling at only 30%, while France is 75%. Therefore, students choose the curriculum from a wide range of elective courses to develop their interests, and they will continue to master their interests so as to be an expert in the future.

However, it does not mean that students can choose courses completely freely, even if in Finland there are two-thirds of the compulsory courses. Some basic courses still need to be nationally unified, because the lack of these courses will hinder students' lives. For example, sex education is one of the required courses in Finland. Few people say that they are interested in sex education and choose to take this course. However, the lack of knowledge in this course will increase the chances of getting students into trouble, such as teenage pregnancy. In addition, basic mathematics is also a required course in most countries. The lack of arithmetic ability puts students at risk because people cannot live without transactions, because it makes them more possible deceived in transactions. Therefore, completely freely choosing courses are likely to make students deliberately avoid certain classes, but the basic knowledge of those classes is very helpful to live.

Some may say that a very wide range of elective courses will increase the cost of national education, because each school needs lots of teacher with a different profession to sustain variety. Indeed, Finland also relies on high taxes to maintain this education system. Nevertheless, the lack of a good education system means that the country's future labor quality is also very poor. Without high-quality labor, the country will be in a disadvantage in the global competition, and the country's tax revenue will be reduced, leading to the collapse of the social welfare system. Therefore, education can be regarded as an investment in the future of the country. Investing a large amount of money with a good education policy can make the country strong for a long time.

In conclusion, the nation should set up enough basic courses to ensure that each student has the necessary knowledge of life, and simultaneously provide a wide range of elective courses for students to pursue or find their own interests, in order to give them the motivation to lifelong learning and the ability of living in the era of knowledge economy. The high education cost should not be the reason for preventing this policy. Without high-quality labor, the country will not continue to be strong.