"Many other companies have recently stated that

having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved

productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The personnel director recommends all employees in the Acme Publishing Company should take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to improve productivity. However, several questions in the argument need to be addressed to make the claim more sufficient.

Citing two success stories from the course, the author claims that the class can really improve productivity. Nevertheless, how many employees take the course? People attending the class should be able to represent all employees in the company, whereas in the argument, lacking information about the number of employees taking the course and the number of successful cases, it is impossible to access the validity of the results. For example, if 2000 people go to the class but only 2 people significantly enhance their reading speed, the conclusion would be highly suspect.

Even if the number of people attending the course is extremely sufficient and over half people significantly strengthen the reading skill, the composition of the people in the class still needs to be assured. Nonetheless, we find no sign of such information for students’ background and have good reasons to doubt whether the class is representative enough to reflect the general effectiveness of itself. For instance, if the company only selected the employees with very high IQ level, the consequence deduced by the class would represent these specific people, not all employees in the company.

The author claims that one graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours. However, a correlation between taking the course and reading report fast does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It is entirely that there are some other important factors contributing to high reading speed. Perhaps he just scanned the report and then claimed he can read this less than two hours, but he did not fully understand the content in the report. Or perhaps he accepted good training when he was a child. So even he did not take the course, he still had the ability to read the 500-page in a short time. Therefore, any of these factors might lead to fast reading speed. Without ruling out all other possibilities, it is unfair to conclude that the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course is responsible for increasing reading speed.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the questions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.