College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

In the era of fast social change on work and ideology, the most popular job also changes quickly and many people suffer affliction because they not only dislike their work but also obtain pressure from their family. Therefore, I believe that college students should be encouraged to choose courses interesting to them, for the following reasons.

The jobs having huge demand today do not represent it will sustain in the future. For example, thirty years ago in Taiwan, because of the high salary, low risk of unemployment, and the expansion of universities and population, a huge demand for teachers appealed lots of students. However, because of the unreasonable and extremely high house price, people cannot afford it, not to mention the cost of raising children so as to make the total fertility rate become the lowest country in the world in recent year. The less amount of students, the less demand for the teacher. Therefore, many graduates with an education degree cannot find teaching positions now, and even some small schools closing let teachers in there face the problem of unemployment. On the contrary, the artist could not get high pay before, due to the fact that employers overlooked the importance of design and the problem of patents. Nevertheless, one of the ways for companies to attract people's attention is beautiful designs, so the demand and salaries for designers have increased nowadays.

In addition, one way for people to be satisfied with their life is to do the job they are really interested in. During waking hours, people spend lots of time working including commute. When they back home, they still cannot relax because they have to do housework and interact with their children, and even have a bitter quarrel about financial problems. For example, in most Japan family, many husbands have to work in the company 12 hours a day, and their wives stay at home to do the housework and take care of children. Hence, because of the segregation of the work, the interaction and conversation between them decrease more and more, and even the wife does not hope the husband to back home during their children preparing for the test so as to lead a serious problem of mental health. Nonetheless, if these husbands at least enjoy the work, the probability of suffering the problem of mental health may decrease.

People who disagree with the statement may claim that students should live independently after graduation, and that the courses leading to jobs can help them earn more money so as to afford the cost of taking care of their parents and the debt such as college tuition debt. Still, studying the field without strong interest would increase the probability of dropping out of the school, even causing the problem of suicide. For instance, electronic engineering is the field in which graduates can get higher payment than other graduates in Taiwan. However, almost one-fourth students cannot graduate from this field, and few of them commit suicide. These students do not have the passion for it, and the only reason why they entered this field is compelled by their parents, because of the high pay after graduation. Therefore, I do not encourage the behavior of asking students to study the subject they do not like.

While it may seem realistic for students to choose courses leading to the job, studying the subject interesting to them would be more realistic from a long-term perspective. Therefore, I believe that college should encourage students to choose courses appealing to them. If they do not know what they like, they should try to find it.