The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-female education by admitting male students into our programs. At a recent faculty meeting, a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. However, Grove students, both past and present, are against the idea of coeducation. Eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Therefore, we recommend maintaining Grove College's tradition of all-female education. We predict that keeping the

college all-female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

The president of Grove College recommends giving up traditional all-female education and begin admitting men so as to increase the enrollment, but the director of the alumnae association oppose to this plan. However, several questions in both arguments need to be addressed to make the suggestion more convincing.

As other all-female colleges have adopted coeducation so as to successfully increase the applications and enrollment, the author claims Grove College could get the same effect by doing the policy other schools performing before. Still, the author fails to consider some possible differences between Grove College and other colleges that might help to bring about a different result for Grove College. For example, if other schools making this change are located in a big city, the convenient traffic and hugely potential students pool would assure them of attracting students. However, if Grove College is in a rural area, it is unlikely that adopting the same policy will boost the number of students. Therefore, without accounting for these and other possible dissimilarities, the author cannot assume that what resulted in increasing applications and enrollment in other colleges would bring about the same result in Grove College.

Now turning to the director of the alumnae association. Citing annual surveys of incoming students and Grove alumnae, the author claims all-female college is the most important thing for them. Nevertheless, how many people finish the surveys? Sample survey should be able to represent all students in the Grove college or all graduates in the alumnae association, whereas in the argument, lacking information about the number of students and graduates surveyed and the number of respondents, it is impossible to access the validity of the results. For example, if 2000 people were surveyed but only 20 responded, the conclusion that the director claims would be highly suspect.

Even if the number of respondents is extremely sufficient, a standard procedure of sample survey needs to be assured. Nonetheless, we find no sign of such processes for a random sample and have good reasons to doubt whether the sample is representative enough to reflect the general attitude of the students and graduates as a whole. For instance, perhaps the surveyors only selected the respondents highly supporting all-female education and neglected those advocating coeducation. Or perhaps the teacher asked students to fill out the survey in the class, and the students knew the teacher having an inclination for all-female education, so they showed a positive attitude to the tradition so as to avoid damaging their GPA. Therefore, the consequence deduced by the survey would be misleading.

In conclusion, both the president and the director need to address the questions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.