The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The director of student housing at Buckingham College recommends the school building lots of new dormitories because of the growth of enrollment. However, the evidence offered by the author is insufficient.

The author says that Buckingham’s enrollment will double over the next 50 years. However, a supposition here is that the people making the projection do have the ability to predict future population change. The author does not provide readers with the background information of the people. Perhaps they could be fresh college graduates claiming that they can predict the trend of population change by using their simple model learned from the class. Or perhaps they could be experienced professors making a wild guess without rigorous data and mathematics in the daily afternoon tea. Therefore, we must know they do have qualifications in predicting enrollment change, and they really have undertaken thorough research on the topic.

Even if the predictive model is exactly correct, a correlation between average rent in the town increasing and being difficult to afford rent does not necessarily infer a causal relation. It is entirely that there are some other important factors making the increasing rent not affect the students. For example, if students studying at Buckingham College all come from an extremely rich family, the rising rent does not bother them. Or if students’ origin family all located near the school, it is unnecessary for the school to pay attention to their living problem. Thus, any of these factors might make the rising rent not influence the students. Without ruling out all other possibilities, it is unfair to conclude that average rent in the town increasing is responsible for the students being difficult to afford rent.

Most important of all, why does the college need enrollment growing? This growing means if the school does not expand the scale of building, facilities, instruments, employees and teachers, the student’s education right will be damaged. It is necessary for the school to maintain their education quality when they let more students attend. If it fails to do that, its reputation will suffer a huge strike so as to make the enrollment decrease in the future. Therefore, neglecting to sustain quality, will not only make the enrollment decrease in a long time but also make the reputation damaged.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide sufficient evidence as above mentioned to strengthen the argument.