Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The extent to which kick should include more call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in its listening area has complicated in its implication. The station manager of kick in medway recommend doing so by citing success in rockville and nationwise survey. Although adding more call-in advice programs might attract more audiences, we cannot fully evaluate the expected outcome due to unaddressed assumptions.

To begin with, the author unfairly attributes the success of wcqp in rockville listening area to inreasing number of call-in advice programs. it is true that some people are especially interested in call-in advice programs and find those helpful, thereby enhancing number of audicens. However, there might many other factors remained unexamined. For example, wcqp were attracted to other new and more interesting programs. Unless the author provides the number of audiences that are only listen to call-in advice programs, we cannot fully decide the influence. In addition, rockville and medway might not be comparable in many aspects, including demographic structure, populations and so forth. if most of citizens are the youth in rockville, who need more advice in their growth, then it is natural that more call-in advice programs would benefit the local residents. On the other hand, if medway has more workers, who are busy with their work, so that do not have much time listening to radios, then adding call-in advice programs might not be meaningful.

Moreover, the author assumes that national survey results are good indication of radios listers. Tough interest of those participants in survey might reflect some general trend of people's interest, this nationwide outcome might not be a strong indication of cases in medway. if most large of survey are conducted in othe rcities, who have totally different characteristics with medway, then the result might be biased and cannot provide me convincing support to the recommendation. Furthermore, even though we are able to gain some understanding in nationwide survey, that radio listeners are interested in such programs is not the same as the fact the we would listen to radios. there are gaps between interest and real actions in our lives. even though people might be avid for somethings, not all of them are able to achievement it. In this case, for instance, people do not have equipment for radios. Hence, without offering evidences with regard to the actual impact on potential listeners, we cannot fully prodict the expected impact.

Last but not least, the assumption that kick can obtain larger audience once include more call-in advicen programs is problematic. Before we implement such recommendation, we need to first examine the current condition of call-in advice programs. if most people find them boring and bootless, then adding more such programs perhaps is not worthwhile. As mentioned above, if the major reason behinds increasing audiences does not lie within the introduction of call-in advice program, then making changes in medway is not helpful. To decide whether this suggestion will have the expected outcome, we also need to judge its feasibility. if all other programs attract stable and considerable audiences, then cutting any of them might reduce the total amount of audiences. Additionally, whether kick has further labor resources for such change remains a question. In all likelihood, including more call-in advice programs costs much more than its benefit, then we may need to reconsider such recommendation.

To sum up, as it stands, the argument is based on some unjustified assumptions. To better decide whether the recommendation suggested by the station manager, the author ought to provide the evidences as follows: first, whether call-in advice programs is the main impetus to attracting listeners and whether wcqp and kick are comparable in all respects; second, whether the nationwide survey gives good idea of current condition in medway; finally, whether kick is able to attract larger audiences after making the change.