Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within this group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots were not wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, these statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The topic was about the people got into roller-skating accidents need more high-quality gear to reduce the accident risk. The argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, author claim that 75 percent accidents on the streets and parking lots do not have proper protective equipment, even though the author does not provide any proper survey data or the actual number of accidents. the author's claim poses a question that did other 25 percent of people have proper protection? if they have, how did they injured or even despite proper protection they avoid accidents. it might be possible that the accidents happen at the streets or parking lots because of the car accidents or the roller skater bumped into the pedestrians.

The author also claimed that the roller-skaters need light-reflecting materials like glow-in-the-dark wrist pads and high-quality protective material to prevent accidents. But, does light-reflecting and protective materials are sufficient to prevent accidents by cars or other accidents. The author does not provide any survey or data that provide that same theory implemented before in some cases and was successful. it might be possible that the accidents happened because skaters do not have a place to roller-skating and they practice in at the streets and parking lots where they accidents with cars or people, or maybe roller skaters do not have a lane and break the traffic rules.

The following argument is flawed and based on unwarranted reasons, and failed to convinced that protective or light-reflecting wearing is sufficient to prevent the accidents.