The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The aruthor of the argument proposes that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To buttress his/her conclusion, the author cites the following evidences: first, fewer people attended super screen-produced movies than any other year; second, the percentage of positive reviews increases. The argument may have its merit, but due to irrevelant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the recommendation here is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the accuracy and validity of the report and reviews are quetionable. if there is only a few reviews, then the result drawn from these reviews are not concinving. even if the percentage of postive reviews increases, these reviews only stand for opinions from limited amount of people, instead of representating all group of citizens in the society. it is also likely that one person, in order to express passion for the movie, wrote many positive reviews. without detailed information about these reviews, such as time, writers' names, jobs and so one, we are unable to make any conclusion about the quality of the movies. there might be one movie that is attracting, and receive many good reviews, while all the remaining movies are not in good quality, with only few write something bad for them.

Furthoremore, the author assumes that the only reason that fewer people watch super screen movies is lack of public awareness of the good quality movies. The assumption may been valid at first glance, careful investigation suggests that it is unwarranted. The author fails to consider many other possible explanantions behind this situation. Say, for example, that people nowadays are busy with their work and do not have much leisure time or that people find more interesting recreation activities, such as skating. even if movies become better, in this case, individuals just do not have enough time to consume and enjoy them.

Moreover, the author falsely predicts that by distributing more money on advertisement, there will be more people attending super screen-produced movies. when super screen puts more money on advertising, owing to limited budget, it may spend less money on the shooting and producing new movies. The movie quality hence will be decreased in the next year. people who see the advertisement would still not come to watch the super screen movies because of poor quality. people may come up with many other efficient ways to attract potential consumers. super screen might offer better services, giving people better experiencing when watching movie. They can do so by providing free beverages and snacks. No one can easily make conclusion about the best improvement without comparing different kinds of suggestions carefully.

To sum up, as it stands, the argument by the author is relied on several problematic assumptions that weakens its validity. To further strengthen its credibility, the author is advised to provide the evidences as follows: first, the precentage of positive reviews is a reasonable and credible measure with regard to the quality of super screen movies; second, there are strong evidences that people not going to super screen is only ascribed to unawareness of improving movie qualities; third, a persuasive research conducted by the professionale experts indicates spending more money on advertising is the solo resort to the current issue.