The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The summart of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of mentia indicates that there will be continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizens of mentia. To buttress the argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, salicylates are members of same chemical family as aspirin, which can be used for treating headaches; second, the twenty-year study indicates that due to addition of salicylates into the commercial use, headaches reported has be decreased; finally, when dalicylates would be utilized as flavor additives for foods. Tough the issue has its merit, because of lack of convincing evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author assumes that members from same chemical family have same treatment that can be used as medicine. The assumption, however, is ungrounded. Since the chemical compositions are very complex and even the position of one element change can lead to dramatic properties of certain products. Thus, even though aspirin and salicylates are from the same chemical family and aspirin is beneficial to alleviating headaches, we cannot readily suggest that salicylates have the same effect. it is likely that salicyclates do not serve for any medical purposes.

Furthermore, the author concludes the usefulness of salicylates by showing the study on relationship between commercial use of salicylates and number of headaches. Noneless, many other potential factors remian unexamined. For example, people today pay more attention to health problems and are prone to physical exercise than those twenty years ago. In this case, the amount of headaches can be declined significantly without the input of salicylates. In addition, the study only investigated the average number of headaches reported. The number reported does not necessarily the same is the true number of headaches. if some people are not willing to report their personal information or forget to report, then the data collected by the study is questionable and conclusion can be unwarranted as well. The author also fails to provide more detailed information of this study? Where does the study take place? Who are the participants? Did all participants eat salicylates? What are the causes of their headaches. if the study is based on citizens in other regions, that it cannot represent poeple in mentia.

Last but not least, the new use does not necessarily decline the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of mentia. if the percentage of salicylates used as flavor additivies is discular, then they could be ineffective even if they are helpful for relatively large douse. we are also not given the specific foods that are added salicylates. are most people willing to buy these kinds of food? if all those foods are not commonly eaten by citizens, then again the impact of such change is not crucial. Another negative effect brought by this change falls in the condition that people falsely believe that all their headache can be reduced and therefore have instensively riskier behaviors, such as drinking alchohoals and smoking. Owing to alteration of their living habits and perfoming with unhealthy actions, people might be more likely to be suffered from headache.

In conclusion, as it stands, the conclusion is relied on imcomplete and certain problematic evidences that curtail the credibility of the summary. To further strengthen the validity of argument, the author is recommended to add the evidences as follows: first, whether salicylates have the same medical property as aspirin; second, whether the study is valid for our current situations and whether the data are precisely collected; third, whether foods with new flavor additives will be purchased and eaten by most individuals and whether people will keep their normal livings.